I am never upset for the reason I think.

Well, there you have it. You are never upset for the reason you think. You think you know what is upsetting you and you give that all the meaning it has for you. Now you have placed the source of your upset outside of you and you are at the mercy of things you have no control over. This is how you have lived your life, and you have taught yourself that it is what life is. You were mistaken. Today you will see things differently.

I am never upset for the reason I think.

This idea, like the preceding one, can be used with any person, situation or event you think is causing you pain.

Notice how specific this lesson is. You are not asked to gloss over the emotion, to push it down and tell yourself that everything is okay and you are happy, happy, joy, joy. Instead you are asked to let the emotion rise to the surface, whatever it is. You are asked to look at what you think is causing this emotion and then you are offered the way to let it go.

There are no small upsets. They are all equally disturbing to my peace of mind.

I am never upset for the reason I think.

All you have to do is apply the lesson for today. Again, you are not asked to understand it or to add anything to it. Simply do as you are asked.

I am not angry at ___ for the reason I think.
I am not afraid of ___ for the reason I think.

I am not worried about ___ for the reason I think.
I am not depressed about ___ for the reason I think.

Have fun with this lesson. Look at everything that is going on in your mind, at everyone and everything you think it is related to. If you are angry, use it. If you are worried, use it. If you are depressed, use it. Help is right here, right now. All you have to do is be honest, so that all obstacles in your mind may be removed by a power greater than your own. There is a God.

I am never upset for the reason I think.

Leave a Reply

