Lesson 18

I am not alone in experiencing the effects of my seeing.

Today’s idea shows you that minds are joined. That when you have a thought about something or someone, it has an effect on everything. This brings the responsibility for what you see, and how you see it, back to you. And that is it’s rightful place.

There is a calm that comes over you when you take responsibility for what you see and feel and think. You stop blaming things outside of you, but you go inward. Just let whatever feeling, whatever thought, take care of itself. Go with it, don’t add anything to it, feel it out, so to speak. What happens in that defenselessness is that whatever thought or feeling you had, evaporates into the nothingness that it is. Without defense of any kind, it’s nothingness becomes obvious.

I have no way of describing what is happening for me right now. This is the great thing about A Course In Miracles and the workbook lessons. Just the practice of the idea for today does it’s thing. This works, miraculously. And it’s undefinable. Don’t try to understand it, just enjoy it. And if it doesn’t feel particularly enjoyable, go with it anyway. It’s just your undoing. You are leaving an empty space for God to fill. As Meister Eckhart says so beautifully:

I never ask God to give himself to me, I beg him to purify, to empty, me. If I am empty, God of his very nature is obliged to give himself to me to fill me.

One thought on “Lesson 18

  1. Hi Tanja- can you recommend any books by Meister Eckhart that might be helpful to me in my journey in ACIM?
    You quote some wonderful things by him and now I am intrigued as they fit in so well with what I am studying…
    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

