Prayer

Father, my freedom is in You alone.

I did not understand what made me free, nor what my freedom is, nor where to look to find it. Father, I have searched in vain until I heard Your Voice directing me. Now I would guide myself no more. For I have neither made nor understood the way to find my freedom. But I trust in You. You Who endowed me with my freedom as Your holy Son will not be lost to me. Your Voice directs me, and the way to You is opening and clear to me at last. Father, my freedom is in You alone. Father, it is my will that I return.

Today we answer for the world, which will be freed along with us. How glad are we to find our freedom through the certain way our Father has established. And how sure is all the world’s salvation, when we learn our freedom can be found in God alone.

Father, I trust in you. It is the one prayer that makes sense, the statement that truly resonates in you. Because it is the truth. In you is a place where your Father resides, it is untouched by any idea of littleness or falsity, and when you speak the truth or hear the truth, you know it. It is unmistakable. A Course In Miracles is a book that speaks the truth, and you recognize it. Jesus speaks to you and you know with full certainty that it is Him. It is a knowing that can’t really be shared, it is a personal experience. But that knowing extends to everyone and everything, because all things are one with you.

There is a great part in A Course In Miracles, one that is not published in the book, and it is called ‘The song of prayer’. It is a beautiful expression of what prayer is. It is not about specifics, not about any idea of what happiness and healing is, but only an asking for the Will of God. Remember that in his Course Jesus has already told you that this world was over a long time ago. That you are dreaming a dream from which you can awaken. That God is all loving.

Even the joining, then, is not enough, if those who pray together do not ask, before all else, what is the Will of God.  From this Cause only can the answer come in which are all specifics satisfied; all separate wishes unified in one.  Prayer for specifics always asks to have the past repeated in some way. What was enjoyed before, or seemed to be; what was another’s and he seemed to love,–all these are but illusions from the past. The aim of prayer is to release the present from its chains of past illusions; to let it be a freely chosen remedy from every choice that stood for a mistake. What prayer can offer now so far exceeds all that you asked before that it is pitiful to be content with less.

Every workbook lesson, every prayer, is an opportunity to turn your will and your life over to the care of God. The all loving God, who created you in His likeness, is waiting for this prayer, this invitation from you to enter in. He didn’t go anywhere, but you seem to have been separate from His Love by a single decision. This decision was made a long time ago and has already been canceled out. Let all things be new today. Let God reveal Himself to you and so discover your Self. You are not of this world, but while you still seem to walk around in it, there is every opportunity to give yourself away and so remember your True Inheritance: you are as God created you.

Leave a Reply

