Forgetting And Remembering

Let me forget my brother’s past today.

This is the thought that leads the way to You, and brings me to my goal. I cannot come to You without my brother. And to know my Source, I first must recognize what You created one with me. My brother’s is the hand that leads me on the way to You. His sins are in the past along with mine, and I am saved because the past is gone. Let me not cherish it within my heart, or I will lose the way to walk to You. My brother is my savior. Let me not attack the savior You have given me. But let me honor him who bears Your Name, and so remember that It is my own.

Forgive me, then, today. And you will know you have forgiven me if you behold your brother in the light of holiness. He cannot be less holy than can I, and you can not be holier than he.

A Course In Miracles directs you to open-mindedness. This is not about any limited idea about it, Jesus is very specific in the Manual for Teachers about this characteristic of a Teacher of God and he links it directly with forgiveness.

The centrality of open-mindedness, perhaps the last of the attributes the teacher of God acquires, is easily understood when its relation to forgiveness is recognized.  Open-mindedness comes with lack of judgment.  As judgment shuts the mind against God’s Teacher, so open-mindedness invites Him to come in.  As condemnation judges the Son of God as evil, so open-mindedness permits him to be judged by the Voice for God on His behalf.  As the projection of guilt upon him would send him to hell, so open-mindedness lets Christ’s image be extended to him.  Only the open-minded can be at peace, for they alone see reason for it.

There is nothing wishy-washy about open-mindedness. There is a certainty in it that is not of this world. You are asked to look at your brother, your neighbor, the one you deem to be a stranger, with no preconceived idea about him. Whenever any idea about him arises, you can simply let it go and remember the lesson for today. Open-mindedness is simple when you recognize that in it lies your salvation. You don’t want to be limited by your ideas about anything anymore. You can be free today, simply by remembering that your neighbor is yourself.

Leave a Reply

